Hockey Central
Prince of Wales Trophy
Beginning with the 1993-94 season, the club which advances to the Stanley Cup Finals as the winner of the Eastern Conference Championship is presented with the Prince of Wales Trophy.
History: His Royal Highness the Prince of Wales, donated the trophy to the Natinal Hockey League in 1925. It was originally awardedd to the winner of the first game played in Madison Square Garden, December 15, 1925 (Montreal Canadiens 3 at NY Americans 1). It was then awarded to the NHL playoff champion in 1925-26 and 1926-27. From 1927-28 through 1937-38, the award was presented to the regular-season champion of the American Division of the NHL. (The team finishing first in the Canadian Division received the O'Brien Trophy during these years.) From 1938-39, when the NHL reverted to one section, to 1966-67, it was presented to the team winning the NHL regular-season championship. With expansion in 1967-68, it again became a divisional trophy, awarded to the regular-season champions of the East Division through to the end of the 1973-74 season. Beginning in 1974-75, it was awarded to the regular-season winner of the conference bearing the name of the trophy. From 1981-82 to 1992-93 the trophy was presented to the playoff champion in the Wales Conference. Since 1993-94, the trophy has been presented to the playoff champion of the Eastern Conference.

2016-17 Winner: Pittsburgh Penguins

The Pittsburgh Penguins won the Prince of Wales Trophy on May 25, 2017 after defeating the Ottawa Senators 3-2 in game 7 of the Eastern Conference Finals. Before defeating the Senators, Pittsburgh had series wins over the Columbus Blue Jackets and the Washington Capitals..
2016-17Pittsburgh Penguins
2015-16Pittsburgh Penguins
2014-15Tampa Bay Ligtning
2013-14NY Rangers
2012-13Boston Bruins
2011-12New Jersey Devils
2010-11Boston Bruins
2009-10Philadelphia Flyers
2008-09Pittsburgh Penguins
2007-08Pittsburgh Penguins
2006-07Ottawa Senators
2005-06Carolina Hurricanes
2003-04Tampa Bay Ligtning
2002-03New Jersey Devils
2001-02Carolina Hurricanes
2000-01New Jersey Devils
1999-00New Jersey Devils
1998-99Buffalo Sabres
1997-98Washington Capitals
1996-97Philadelphia Flyers
1995-96Florida Panthers
1994-95New Jersey Devils
1993-94NY Rangers
1992-93Montreal Canadiens
1991-92Pittsburgh Penguins
1990-91Pittsburgh Penguins
1989-90Boston Bruins
1988-89Montreal Canadiens
1987-88Boston Bruins
1986-87Philadelphia Flyers
1985-86Montreal Canadiens
1984-85Philadelphia Flyers
1983-84NY Islanders
1982-83NY Islanders
1981-82NY Islanders
1980-81Montreal Canadiens
1979-80Buffalo Sabres
1978-79Montreal Canadiens
1977-78Montreal Canadiens
1976-77Montreal Canadiens
1975-76Montreal Canadiens
1974-75Buffalo Sabres
1973-74Boston Bruins
1972-73Montreal Canadiens
1971-72Boston Bruins
1970-71Boston Bruins
1969-70Chicago Blackhawks
1968-69Montreal Canadiens
1967-68Montreal Canadiens
1966-67Chicago Blackhawks
1965-66Montreal Canadiens
1964-65Detroit Red Wings
1963-64Montreal Canadiens
1962-63Toronto Maple Leafs
1961-62Montreal Canadiens
1960-61Montreal Canadiens
1959-60Montreal Canadiens
1958-59Montreal Canadiens
1957-58Montreal Canadiens
1956-57Detroit Red Wings
1955-56Montreal Canadiens
1954-55Detroit Red Wings
1953-54Detroit Red Wings
1952-53Detroit Red Wings
1951-52Detroit Red Wings
1950-51Detroit Red Wings
1949-50Detroit Red Wings
1948-49Detroit Red Wings
1947-48Toronto Maple Leafs
1946-47Montreal Canadiens
1945-46Montreal Canadiens
1944-45Montreal Canadiens
1943-44Montreal Canadiens
1942-43Detroit Red Wings
1941-42NY Rangers
1940-41Boston Bruins
1939-40Boston Bruins
1938-39Boston Bruins
1937-38Boston Bruins
1936-37Detroit Bruins
1935-36Detroit Red Wings
1934-35Boston Bruins
1933-34Detroit Red Wings
1932-33Boston Bruins
1931-32NY Rangers
1930-31Boston Bruins
1929-30Boston Bruins
1928-29Boston Bruins
1927-28Boston Bruins
1926-27Ottawa Senators
1925-26Mtl. Maroons
Dec. 15/25Montreal Canadiens
1923-24Montreal Canadiens*
* Engraved by Montreal Canadiens in 1925-26