Hockey Central
Vezina Trophy
Leading Goaltenders
Leading Goalies since 1982 - Vezina Trophy since 1927

An annual award "to the goalkeeper adjudged to be the best at his position" as voted by the general managers of the 30 clubs.

History: Leo Dandurand, Louis Letourneau, and Joe Cattarinich, former owners of the Montreal Canadiens, presented the trophy to the National Hockey League in 1926-27 in memory of Georges Vezina, outstanding goalkeeper of the Canadiens who collapsed during an NHL game November 28, 1925, and died of tuberculosis a few months later. Until the 1981-82 season, the goalkeeper(s) of the team allowing the fewest number of goals during the regular season were awarded the Vezina Trophy.

In 1981-82, the trophy's definition changed. The Williams M. Jennings Trophy was introduced for the goalkeeper with the lowest goals-against average, while the Vezina Trophy then became an award for the goaltender judged to be the best at his position in the opinion of the general managers. The first Vezina Trophy went to George Hainsworth, who, ironically, replaced Georges Vezina in goal for the Montreal Canadiens.

Leading winners: Jacques Plante (7), Bill Durnan, Dominik Hasek (6).

Year Winner Runners-up
2017 Sergei Bobrovsky, Columbus Braden Holtby, Washington
2016 Braden Holtby, Washington Ben Bishop, Tampa Bay
2015 Carey Price, Montreal Oekka Rinne, Nashville
2014 Tuukka Rask, Boston Bruins Semyon Varlamov, Colorado Avalanche
2013 Sergei Bobrovsky, Columbus Henrik Lundqvist, NY Rangers
2012 Henrik Lundqvist, NY Rangers Jonathan Quick, Los Angeles
2011 Tim Thomas, Boston Pekka Rinne, Nashville
2010 Ryan Miller, Buffalo Ilya Bryzgslov, Phoenix
2009 Tim Thomas, Boston Steve Mason, Phoenix
2008 Martin Brodeur, New Jersey Evgeni Nabokov, San Jose
2007 Martin Brodeur, New Jersey Roberto Luongo, Vancouver
2006 Miikka Kiprusoff, Calgary Martin Brodeur, New Jersey
2005 -- --
2004 Martin Brodeur, New Jersey Miikka Kiprusoff, Calgary
2003 Martin Brodeur, New Jersey Marty Turco, Dallas
2002 Jose Theodore, Montreal Patrick Roy, Colorado
2001 Dominik Hasek, Buffalo Roman Cechmanek, Philadelphia
2000 Olaf Kolzig, Washington Roman Turek, St. Louis
1999 Dominik Hasek, Buffalo Curtis Joseph, Toronto
1998 Dominik Hasek, Buffalo Martin Brodeur, New Jersey
1997 Dominik Hasek, Buffalo Martin Brodeur, New Jersey
1996 Jim Carey, Washington Chris Osgood, Detroit
1995 Dominik Hasek, Buffalo Ed Belfour, Chicago
1994 Dominik Hasek, Buffalo John Vanbiesbrouck, Florida
1993 Ed Belfour, Chicago Tom Barrasso, Pittsburgh
1992 Patrick Roy, Montreal Kirk McLean, Vancouver
1991 Ed Belfour, Chicago Patrick Roy, Montreal
1990 Patrick Roy, Montreal Daren Puppa, Buffalo
1989 Patrick Roy, Montreal Mike Vernon, Calgary
1988 Grant Fuhr, Edmonton Tom Barrasso, Pittsburgh
1987 Ron Hextall, Philadelphia Mike Liut, Hartford
1986 John Vanbiesbrouck, NY Rangers Bob Froese, Philadelphia
1985 Pelle Lindbergh, Philadelphia Tom Barrasso, Buffalo
1984 Tom Barrasso, Buffalo Rejean Lemelin, Calgary
1983 Pete Peeters, Boston Roland Melanson, NY Islanders
1982 Billy Smith, NY Islanders Grant Fuhr, Edmonton
1981 Denis Herron, Montreal
Michel Larocque, Montreal
Richard Sevigny, Montreal
Pete Peeters, Philadelphia
Rick St. Croix, Philadelphia
1980 Don Edwards, Buffalo
Bob Sauve, Buffalo
Gerry Cheevers, Boston
Gilles Gilbert, Boston
1979 Ken Dryden, Montreal
Michel Larocque, Montreal
Glenn Resch, NY Islanders
Billy Smith, NY Islanders
1978 Ken Dryden, Montreal
Michel Larocque, Montreal
Bernie Parent, Philadelphia
Wayne Stephenson, Philadelphia
1977 Ken Dryden, Montreal
Michel Larocque, Montreal
Glenn Resch, NY Islanders
Billy Smith, NY Islanders
1976 Ken Dryden, Montreal Glenn Resch, NY Islanders
Billy Smith, NY Islanders
1975 Bernie Parent, Philadelphia Gary Edwards, Los Angeles
Rogatien Vachon, Los Angeles
1974 Tony Esposito, Chicago(tie)
Bernie Parent, Philadelphia(tie)
Gilles Gilbert, Boston
1973 Ken Dryden, Montreal Ed Giacomin, NY Rangers
Gilles Villemure, NY Rangers
1972 Tony Esposito, Chicago
Gary Smith, Chicago
Cesare Maniago, Minnesota
Lorne Worsley, Minnesota
1971 Ed Giacomin, NY Rangers
Gilles Villemure, NY Rangers
Tony Esposito, Chicago
1970 Tony Esposito, Chicago Jacques Plante, St. Louis
Ernie Wakely, St. Louis
1969 Glenn Hall, St. Louis
Jacques Plante, St. Louis
Ed Giacomin, NY Rangers
1968 Rogatien Vachon, Montreal
Lorne Worsley, Montreal
Johnny Bower, Toronto
Bruce Gamble, Toronto
1967 Denis Dejordy, Chicago
Glenn Hall, Chicago
Charlie Hodge, Montreal
1966 Charlie Hodge, Montreal
Lorne Worsley, Montreal
Glenn Hall, Chicago
1965 Johnny Bower, Toronto
Terry Sawchuk, Toronto
Roger Crozier, Detroit
1964 Charlie Hodge, Montreal Glenn Hall, Chicago
1963 Glenn Hall, Chicago Johnny Bower, Toronto
Don Simmons, Toronto
1962 Jacques Plante, Montreal Johnny Bower, Toronto
1961 Johnny Bower, Toronto Glenn Hall, Chicago
1960 Jacques Plante, Montreal Glenn Hall, Chicago
1959 Jacques Plante, Montreal Johnny Bower, Toronto
Ed Chadwick, Toronto
1958 Jacques Plante, Montreal Marcel Paille, NY Rangers
Lorne Worsley, NY Rangers
1957 Jacques Plante, Montreal Glenn Hall, Detroit
1956 Jacques Plante, Montreal Glenn Hall, Detroit
1955 Terry Sawchuk, Detroit Harry Lumley, Toronto
1954 Harry Lumley, Toronto Terry Sawchuk, Detroit
1953 Terry Sawchuk, Detroit Gerry McNeil, Montreal
1952 Terry Sawchuk, Detroit Al Rollins, Toronto
1951 Al Rollins, Toronto Terry Sawchuk, Detroit
1950 Bill Durnan, Montreal Harry Lumley, Detroit
1949 Bill Durnan, Montreal Harry Lumley, Detroit
1948 Turk Broda, Toronto Harry Lumley, Detroit
1947 Bill Durnan, Montreal Turk Broda, Toronto
1946 Bill Durnan, Montreal Frank Brimsek, Boston
1945 Bill Durnan, Montreal Harry Lumley, Detroit(tie)
Frank McCool, Toronto(tie)
1944 Bill Durnan, Montreal Paul Bibeault, Toronto
1943 Johnny Mowers, Detroit Turk Broda, Toronto
1942 Frank Brimsek, Boston Turk Broda, Toronto
1942 Turk Broda, Toronto Frank Brimsek, Boston (tie)
Johnny Mowers, Detroit(tie)
1940 Dave Kerr, NY Rangers Frank Brimsek, Boston
1939 Frank Brimsek, Boston Dave Kerr, NY Rangers
1938 Tiny Thompson, Boston Dave Kerr, NY Rangers
1937 Normie Smith, Detroit Dave Kerr, NY Rangers
1936 Tiny Thompson, Boston Mike Karakas, Chicago
1935 Lorne Chabot, Chicago Alex Connell, Mtl. Maroons
1934 Charlie Gardiner, Chicago Wilf Cude, Detroit
1933 Tiny Thompson, Boston John Roach, Detroit
1932 Charlie Gardiner, Chicago Alex Connell, Detroit
1931 Roy Worters, NY Americans Charlie Gardiner, Chicago
1930 Tiny Thompson, Boston Charlie Gardiner, Chicago
1929 George Hainsworth, Mtl Canadiens Tiny Thompson, Boston
1928 George Hainsworth, Mtl Canadiens Alex Connell, Ottawa
1927 George Hainsworth, Mtl Canadiens Clint Benedict, Mtl Maroons

Note: Awarded to goalie who played minimum of 25 games for the team that allowed the fewest goals; since 1982, awarded to outstanding goalie.