Hockey Central
Ted Lindsay Award
Outstanding Player Selected by NHL
Players' Association

The Ted Lindsay Award is presented annually to the "most outstanding player" in the NHL as voted by fellow members of the National Hockey League Players' Association. The winner receives $20,000, and the two finalists receive $10,000 each to denote to the grassroots hockey program of their choice, through the NHLPA's Goal and Dreams Fund.

History: On April 29, 2010, the Ted Lindsay Award was introduced to recognize Lindsay's pioneering efforts in the establishment of the NHL Players' Association. Carrying on the tradition established by the Lester B. Pearson Award, it remains the only award voted on by the players themselves. The award was originally created in 1971 in honor of the late Lester B. Pearson, former Prime Minister of Canada.

Year Winner Team
2017 Connor McDavid Edmonton Oilers
2016 Patrick Kane Chicago Blackhawks
2015 Carey Price Montreal Canadiens
2014 Sidney Crosby Pittsburgh Penguins
2013 Sidney Crosby Pittsburgh Penguins
2012 Evgeni Makin Pittsburgh Penguins
2011 Daniel Sedin Vancouver Canucks
2010 Alex Ovechkin Washington Capitals
2009 Alex Ovechkin Washington Capitals
2008 Alex Ovechkin Washington Capitals
2007 Sidney Crosby Pittsburgh Penguins
2006 Jaromir Jagr New York Rangers
2005 -- --
2004 Martin St. Louis Tampa Bay Lightning
2003 Markus Naslund Vancouver Canucks
2002 Jarome Iginla Calgary Flames
2001 Joe Sakic Colorado Avalanche
2000 Jaromir Jagr Pittsburgh Penguins
1999 Jaromir Jagr Pittsburgh Penguins
1998 Dominik Hasek Buffalo Sabres
1997 Dominik Hasek Buffalo Sabres
1996 Mario Lemieux Pittsburgh Penguins
1995 Eric Lindros Philadelphia Flyers
1994 Sergei Fedorov Detroit Red Wings
1993 Mario Lemieux Pittsburgh Penguins
1992 Mark Messier NY Rangers
1991 Brett Hull St. Louis Blues
1990 Mark Messier Edmonton Oilers
1989 Steve Yzerman Detroit Red Wings
1988 Mario Lemieux Pittsburgh Penguins
1987 Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers
1986 Mario Lemieux Pittsburgh
1985 Wayne Gretzky Edmonton
1984 Wayne Gretzky Edmonton
1983 Wayne Gretzky Edmonton
1982 Wayne Gretzky Edmonton
1981 Mike Liut St. Louis
1980 Marcel Dionne Los Angeles
1979 Marcel Dionne Los Angeles
1978 Guy Lafleur Montreal
1977 Guy Lafleur Montreal
1976 Guy Lafleur Montreal
1975 Bobby Orr Boston
1974 Phil Esposito Boston
1973 Bobby Clarke Philadelphia
1972 Jean Ratelle NY Rangers
1971 Phil Esposito Boston