Hockey Central
Plus-Minus Award

An annual award "to the player, having played a minimum of 60 games (34 games in 1994-95), who leads the league in plus/minus statistics" at the end of the regular season. Bud Ice will contribute $5,000 on behalf of the winner to the charity of his choice and $1,000 on behalf of each individual team winner.


The award was presented to the NHL in 1989-90 by Bud Ice to recognize the League leader in plus-minus statistics. Plus-minus statistics are calculated by giving a players a "plus" when on-ice for an even-strength or shorthanded goal scored by his team. He receives a "minus" when on-ice for an even strength or shorthanded goal scored by the opposing team. A plus-minus award has been presented since the 1982-83 season.

Year Winner Team
2010 Jeff Schultz Washington Capitals
2009 David Krejci Boston Bruins
2008 Pavel Datsyuk Detroit Red Wings
2007 Thomas Vanek Buffalo Sabres
2006 Wade Redden Ottawa Senators
2005 -- --
2004 Marek Malik
Martin St. Louis
Vancouver Canucks
Tampa Bay Lightning
2003 Peter Forsberg
Milan Hejduk
Colorado Avalanche
Colorado Avalanche
2002 Chris Chelios Detroit Red Wings
2001 Joe Sakic Colorado Avalanche
2000 Chris Pronger St. Louis Blues
1999 John LeClair Philadelphia Flyers
1998 Chris Pronger St. Louis Blues
1997 John LeClair Philadelphia Flyers