Hockey Central
Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award

An annual award presented 'to the player who exemplifies great leadership qualities to his team, on and off the ice during the regular season.' Suggestions for nominees and solicited from fans, clubs and NHL personnel, but the selection of the three finialists and the ultimate winner is made by Mark Messier himself.

History: Presented by Bridgestone in honor of one of hockey's great leaders, this award was first handed out in 2007.

Year Winner Runner-up
2013 Daniel Alfredsson, Ottawa Senators  
2012 Shane Doan, Phoenix Coyotes  
2015 Jonathan Toews Chicago Blackhawks
2014 Dustin Brown, Los Angeles Kings Ryan Getzlaf, Anaheim Ducks
Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks
2013 Daniel Alfredsson, Ottawa Senators  
2012 Shane Doan, Phoenix Coyotes  
2011 Vancouver Canucks Washington Capitals
2010 Washington Capitals San Jose Sharks
2009 San Jose Sharks Boston Bruins
2008 Detroit Red Wings San Jose Sharks
2007 Buffalo Sabres Detroit Red Wings
2006 Detroit Red Wings Ottawa Senators
2005 -- --
2004 Detroit Red Wings Tampa Bay Lightning
2003 Ottawa Senators Dallas Stars
2002 Detroit Red Wings Boston Bruins
2001 Colorado Avlanche Detroit Red Wings
2000 St. Louis Blues Detroit Red Wings
1999 Dallas Stars New Jersey Devils
1998 Dallas Stars New Jersey Devils
1997 Colorado Avalanche Dallas Stars
1996 Detroit Red Wings Colorado Avalanche
1995 Detroit Red Wings Quebec Nordiques
1994 New York Rangers New Jersey Devils
1993 Pittsburgh Penguins Boston Bruins
1992 New York Rangers Washington Capitals
1991 Chicago Blackhawks St. Louis Blues
1990 Boston Bruins Calgary Flames
1989 Calgary Flames Montreal Canadiens
1988 Calgary Flames Montreal Canadiens
1987 Edmonton Oilers Philadelphia Flyers
1986 Edmonton Oilers Philadelphia Flyers