````````` Hockeycentral | NHL | Awards | Lady Byng Memorial Trophy
Hockey Central
Lady Byng Memorial Trophy
Most Gentlemanly and
Sportsmanlike Player
An annual award "to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability." The winner is selected in a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association at the end of the regular schedule.
History: Lady Byng, wife of Canada's Governor-General at the time, presented the Lady Byng Trophy in the 1924-25 season. After Frank Boucher of the New York Rangers won the award seven times in eight seasons, he was given the trophy to keep and Lady Byng donated another trophy in 1936. After Lady Byng's death in 1949, the National Hockey League presented a new trophy, changing the name to Lady Byng Memorial Trophy.

Year Winner Runner Up
2017 Johnny Gaudreau,Calgary Vladimir Tarasenko, St. Louis
2016 Anze Kopitat, Los Angeles Aleksander Barkov, Florida
2015 Jiri Hudlar Calgary Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit
2014 Ryan O'Reilly, Colorado Martin St. Louis, TB/NY Rangers
Patrick Marleau, San Jose
2013 Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Patrick Kane, Chicago
2012 Brian Campbell, Florida Jordan Eberle, Edmonton
2011 Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit
2010 Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Brad Richards, Dallas
2009 Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay
2008 Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay
2007 Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay
2006 Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings Brad Richards, Tamps Bay
2005 -- --
2004 Brad Richards, Tampa Bay Daniel Alfredsson, Ottawa
2003 Alexander Mogilny, Toronto Nicklas Lidstorm, Detroit
2002 Ron Francis, Carolina Joe Sakic, Colorado
2001 Joe Sakic, Colorado Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit
2000 Pavol Demitra, St. Louis Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit
1999 Wayne Gretzky, NY Rangers Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit
1998 Ron Francis, Pittsburgh Teemu Selanne, Anaheim
1997 Paul Kariya, Anaheim Teemu Selanne, Anaheim
1996 Paul Kariya, Anaheim Adam Oates, Boston
1995 Ron Francis, Pittsburgh Adam Oates, Boston
1994 Wayne Gretzky, Los Angeles Adam Oates, Boston
1993 Pierre Turgeon, NY Islanders Adam Oates, Boston
1992 Wayne Gretzky, Los Angeles Joe Sakic, Quebec
1991 Wayne Gretzky, Los Angeles Brett Hull, St. Louis
1990 Brett Hull, St. Louis Wayne Gretzky, Los Angeles
1989 Joe Mullen, Calgary Wayne Gretzky, Los Angeles
1988 Mats Naslund, Montreal Wayne Gretzky, Edmonton
1987 Joe Mullen, Calgary Wayne Gretzky, Edmonton
1986 Mike Bossy, NY Islanders Jari Kurri, Edmonton
1985 Jari Kurri, Edmonton Joe Mullen, St. Louis
1984 Mike Bossy, NY Islanders Rick Middleton, Boston
1983 Mike Bossy, NY Islanders Rick Middleton, Boston
1982 Rick Middleton, Boston Mike Bossy, NY Islanders
1981 Rick Kehoe, Pittsburgh Wayne Gretzky, Edmonton
1980 Wayne Gretzky, Edmonton Marcel Dionne, Los Angeles
1979 Bob MacMillan, Atlanta Marcel Dionne, Los Angeles
1978 Butch Goring, Los Angeles Peter McNab, Boston
1977 Marcel Dionne, Los Angeles Jean Ratelle, Boston
1976 Jean Ratelle, NYR-Boston Jean Pronovost, Pittsburgh
1975 Marcel Dionne, Detroit John Bucyk, Boston
1974 John Bucyk, Boston Lowell MacDonald, Pittsburgh
1973 Gilbert Perreault, Buffalo Jean Ratelle, NY Rangers
1972 Jean Ratelle, New York John Bucyk, Boston
1971 John Bucyk, Boston Dave Keon, Toronto
1970 Phil Goyette, St. Louis John Bucyk, Boston
1969 Alex Delvecchio, Detroit Tad Hampson, Oakland
1968 Stan Mikita, Chicago John Bucyk, Boston
1967 Stan Mikita, Chicago Dave Keon, Toronto
1966 Alex Delvecchio, Detroit Bobby Rousseau, Montreal
1965 Bobby Hull, Chicago Alex Delvecchio, Detroit
1964 Ken Wharram, Chicago Dave Keon, Toronto
1963 Dave Keon, Toronto Camille Henry, New York
1962 Dave Keon, Toronto Claude Provost, Montreal
1961 Red Kelly, Toronto Norm Ullman, Detroit
1960 Don McKenney, Boston Andy Hebenton, New York
1959 Alex Delvecchio, Detroit Andy Hebenton, New York
1958 Camille Henry, New York Don Marshall, Montreal
1957 Andy Hebenton, New York Earl Reibel, Detroit
1956 Earl Reibel, Detroit Floyd Curry, Montreal
1955 Sid Smith, Toronto Danny Lewicki, New York
1954 Red Kelly, Detroit Don Releig, New York
1953 Red Kelly, Detroit Wally Hergesheimer, New York
1952 Sid Smith, Toronto Red Kelly, Detroit
1951 Red Kelly, Detroit Woody Dumart, Boston
1950 Edgar Laprade, New York Red Kelly, Detroit
1949 Bill Quackenbush, Detroit Harry Watson, Toronto
1948 Buddy O'Connor, New York Syl Apps, Toronto
1947 Bobby Bauer, Boston Syl Apps, Toronto
1946 Toe Blake, Montreal Clint Smith, Chicago
1945 Bill Mosienko, Chicago Syd Howe, Detroit
1944 Clint Smith, Chicago Herb Cain, Boston
1943 Max Bentley, Chicago Buddy O'Connor, Montreal
1942 Syl Apps, Toronto Gordie Drillon, Toronto
1941 Bobby Bauer, Boston Gordie Drillon, Toronto
1940 Bobby Bauer, Boston Clint Smith, NY Rangers
1939 Clint Smith, NY Rangers Marty Barry, Detroit
1938 Gordie Drillon, Toronto Clint Smith, NY Rangers
1937 Marty Barry, Detroit Gordie Drillon, Toronto
1936 Doc Romnes, Chicago Dave Schriner, NY Americans
1935 Frank Boucher, NY Rangers Russ Blinco, Mtl. Maroons
1934 Frank Boucher, NY Rangers Joe Primeau, Toronto
1933 Frank Boucher, NY Rangers Joe Primeau, Toronto
1932 Joe Primeau, Toronto Frank Boucher, NY Rangers
1931 Frank Boucher, NY Rangers Normie Himes, NY Americans
1930 Frank Boucher, NY Rangers Normie Himes, NY Americans
1929 Frank Boucher, NY Rangers Harry Darragh, Pittsburgh
1928 Frank Boucher, NY Rangers George Hay, Detroit
1927 Billy Burch, NY Americans Dick Irvin, Chicago
1926 Frank Nighbor, Ottawa Billy Burch, NY Americans
1925 Frank Nighbor, Ottawa none