Hockey Central

Hockey Central contains records for the NHL and the Pittsburgh Penguins.



Jack Adams Award

Coach of the Year

An annual award presented by the National Hockey League Broadcasters' Association to "the NHL coach adjudged to have contributed the most to his team's success." Winner is selected by a poll among members of the NHL Broadcasters' Association at the end of the regular season.

History: The award was presented by the NHL Broadcasters' Association in 1974 to commemorate the late Jack Adams, coach and general manager of the Detroit Red Wings whose lifetime dedication to hockey serves as an inspiration to all who aspire to further the game.

Leading winners: Pat Burns (3), Scotty Bowman, Jacques Demers, Pat Quinn, Barry Trotz (2).

Year Winner Team
2018-19 Barry Trotz New York Islanders
2017-18 Gerard Gallant Vegas Golden Knights
2016-17 John Tortorella Columbus Blue Jackets
2015-16 Barry Trotz Washington Capitals
2014-15 Bob Hartley Calgary Flames
2013-14 Patrick Roy Colorado Avalanche
2012-13 Paul MacLean Ottawa Senators
2011-12 Ken Hitchcock St. Louis Blues
2010-11 Dan Bylsma Pittsburgh Penguins
2009-10 Dave Tippett Phoenix Coyotes
2008-09 Claude Julien Boston Bruins
2007-08 Bruce Broudeu Washington Capitals
2006-07 Alain Vigneault Vancouver Canucks
2005-06 Lindy Ruff Buffalo Sabres
2004-05 -- --
2003-04 John Tortirella Tampa Bay Lightning
2002-03 Jacques Lemaire Minnesota Wild
2001-02 Bob Francis Phoenix Coyotes
2000-01 Bill Barber Philadelphia Flyers
1999-00 Joel Quenneville St. Louis Blues
1998-99 Jacques Martin Ottawa Senators
1997-98 Pat Burns Boston Bruins
1996-97 Ted Nolan Buffalo Sabres
Year Winner Team
1995-96 Scotty Bowman Detroit Red Wings
1994-95 Marc Crawford Quebec Nordiques
1993-94 Jacques Lamaire New Jersey Devils
1992-93 Pat Burns Toronto Maple Leafs
1991-92 Pat Quinn Vancouver Canucks
1990-91 Brian Sutter St. Louis Blues
1989-90 Bob Murdoch Winnipeg Jets
1988-89 Pat Burns Montreal Canadiens
1987-88 Jacques Demers Detroit Red Wings
1986-87 Jacques Demers Detroit Red Wings
1985-86 Glen Sather Edmonton Oilers
1984-85 Mike Keenan Philadelphia Flyers
1983-84 Bryan Murray Washington Capitals
1982-83 Orval Tessier Chicago Blackhawks
1981-82 Tom Watt Winnipeg Jets
1980-81 Gordon "Red" Berenson St. Louis Blues
1979-80 Pat Quinn Philadelphia Flyers
1978-79 Al Arbour New York Islanders
1977-78 Bobby Kromm Detroit Red Wings
1976-77 Scotty Bowman Montreal Canadiens
1975-76 Don Cherry Boston Bruins
1974-75 Bob Pulford Los Angeles Kings
1973-74 Fred Shero Philadelphia Flyers

© National Hockey League, NHL, the logo of the NHL and the Stanley Cup are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League.
All NHL logos and marks and team names and team logos depicted here in are the property of the NHL and the respective teams. All rights reserved.