Hockey Central
Hart Memorial Trophy
Most Valuable Player Overall

An annual award "to the player adjudged to be the most valuable to his team." Winner selected in a poll by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association in the 30 NHL cities at the end of the regular schedul.

History: The Hart Memorial Trophy was presented by the National Hockey League in 1960 after the original Hart Trophy was retired to the Hockey Hall of Fame. The original Hart Trophy was donated to the NHL in 1923 by Dr. David A. Hart, father of Cecil Hart, former manager-coach of the Montreal Canadiens.

Year Winner Runner-up
2017 Connor McDavid, Edmonton Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh
2016 Patrick Kane, Chicago Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh
2015 Carey Price, Montreal Alex Ovechkin, Washington
2014 Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Ryan Getzalf, Tampa Bay
Claude Girourx, Philadelphia
2013 Alex Ovechkin, Washington Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh
2012 Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh Steven Stamkos, Tampa Bay
2011 Corey Perry, Anaheim Danel Sedin, Vancouver
2010 Henrik Sedin, Vancouver Alex Ovechkin, Washington
2009 Alex Ovechkin, Washington Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh
2008 Alex Ovechkin, Washington Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh
2007 Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Roberto Luongo, Vancouver
2006 Joe Thornton, San Jose Jaromir Jagr, NY Rangers
2005 -- --
2004 Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Jarome Iginla, Calgary
2003 Peter Forsberg, Colorado Markus Naslund, Vancouver
2002 Jose Theodore, Montreal Jarome Iginla, Calgary
2001 Joe Sakic, Colorado Mario Lemieux, Pittsburgh
2000 Chris Pronger, St. Louis Jaromir Jagr, Pittsburgh
1999 Jaromir Jagr, Pittsburgh Alexei Yashin, Ottawa
1998 Dominik Hasek, Buffalo Jaromir Jagr, Pittsburgh
1997 Dominik Hasek, Buffalo Paul Kariya, Anaheim
1996 Mario Lemieux, Pittsburgh Mark Messier, NY Rangers
1995 Eric Lindros, Philadelphia Jaromir Jagr, Pittsburgh
1994 Sergei Fedorov, Detroit Dominik Hasek, Buffalo
1993 Mario Lemieux, Pittsburgh Doug Gilmour, Toronto
1992 Mark Messier, NY Rangers Patrick Roy, Montreal
1991 Brett Hull, St. Louis Wayne Gretzky, Los Angeles
1990 Mark Messier, Edmonton Ray Bourque, Boston
1989 Wayne Gretzky, Los Angeles Mario Lemieux, Pittsburgh
1988 Mario Lemieux, Pittsburgh Grant Fuhr, Edmonton
1987 Wayne Gretzky, Edmonton Ray Bourque, Boston
1986 Wayne Gretzky, Edmonton Mario Lemieux, Pittsburgh
1985 Wayne Gretzky, Edmonton Dale Hawerchuk, Winnipeg
1984 Wayne Gretzky, Edmonton Rod Langway, Washington
1983 Wayne Gretzky, Edmonton Pete Peeters, Boston
1982 Wayne Gretzky, Edmonton Bryan Trottier, NY Islanders
1981 Wayne Gretzky, Edmonton Mike Liut, St. Louis
1980 Wayne Gretzky, Edmonton Marcel Dionne, Los Angeles
1979 Bryan Trottier, NY Islanders Guy Lafleur, Montreal
1978 Guy Lafleur, Montreal Bryan Trottier, NY Islanders
1977 Guy Lafleur, Montreal Bobby Clarke, Philadelphia
1976 Bobby Clarke, Philadelphia Denis Potvin, NY Islanders
1975 Bobby Clarke, Philadelphia Rogatien Vachon, Los Angeles
1974 Phil Esposito, Boston Bernie Parent, Philadelphia
1973 Bobby Clarke, Philadelphia Phil Esposito, Boston
1972 Bobby Orr, Boston Ken Dryden, Montreal
1971 Bobby Orr, Boston Phil Esposito, Boston
1970 Bobby Orr, Boston Tony Esposito, Chicago
1969 Phil Esposito, Boston Jean Beliveau, Montreal
1968 Stan Mikita, Chicago Jean Beliveau, Montreal
1967 Stan Mikita, Chicago Ed Giacomin, New York
1966 Bobby Hull, Chicago Jean Beliveau, Montreal
1965 Bobby Hull, Chicago Norm Ullman, Detroit
1964 Jean Beliveau, Montreal Bobby Hull, Chicago
1963 Gordie Howe, Detroit Stan Mikita, Chicago
1962 Jacques Plante, Montreal Doug Harvey, New York
1961 Bernie Geoffrion, Montreal Johnny Bower, Toronto
1960 Gordie Howe, Detroit Bobby Hull, Chicago
1959 Andy Bathgate, New York Gordie Howe, Detroit
1958 Gordie Howe, Detroit Andy Bathgate, New York
1957 Gordie Howe, Detroit Jean Beliveau, Montreal
1956 Jean Beliveau, Montreal Tod Sloan, Toronto
1955 Ted Kennedy, Toronto Harry Lumley, Toronto
1954 Al Rollins, Chicago Red Kelly, Chicago
1953 Gordie Howe, Detroit Al Rollins, Chicago
1952 Gordie Howe, Detroit Elmer Lach, Montreal
1951 Milt Schmidt, Boston Maurice Richard, Montreal
1950 Charlie Rayner, New York Ted Kennedy, Toronto
1949 Sid Abel, Detroit Bill Burnan, Montreal
1948 Buddy O'Connor, New York Frank Brimsek, Boston
1948 Buddy O'Connor, New York Frank Brimsek, Boston
1947 Maurice Richard, Montreal Milt Schmidt, Boston
1946 Max Bentley, Chicago Gaye Stewart, Toronto
1945 Elmer Lach, Montreal Maurice Richard, Montreal
1944 Babe Pratt, Toronto Bill Cowley, Boston
1943 Bill Cowley, Boston Doug Bentley, Chicago
1942 Tom Anderson, Brooklyn Syl Apps, Toronto
1941 Bill Cowley, Boston Dit Clapper, Boston
1940 Eddie Goodfellow, Detroit Syl Apps, Toronto
1939 Toe Blake, Montreal Syl Apps, Toronto
1938 Eddie Shore, Boston Paul Thompson, Chicago
1937 Babe Siebert, Mtl Canadiens Lionel Conacher, Mtl Maroons
1936 Eddie Shore, Boston Hooley Smith, Mtl Maroons
1935 Eddie Shore, Boston Charlie Conacher, Toronto
1934 Aurel Joliat, Mtl Canadiens Lionel Conacher, Chicago
1933 Eddie Shore, Boston Bill Cook, NY Rangers
1932 Howie Morenz, Mtl Canadiens Joe Primeau, Toronto
1932 Howie Morenz, Mtl Canadiens Eddie Shore, Boston
1930 Nels Stewart, Mtl Maroons Lionel Hitchman, Boston
1929 Roy Worters, NY Americans Ace Bailey, Toronto
1928 Howie Morenz, Mtl Canadiens Roy Worters, Pittsburgh
1927 Herb Gardiner, Mtl Canadiens Bill Cook, NY Rangers
1926 Nels Stewart, Mtl Maroons Sprague Cleghorn, Boston
1925 Billy Burch, Hamilton Howie Morenz, Mtl Canadiens
1924 Frank Nighbor, Ottawa Sprague Cleghorn, Montreal