Hockey Central

Hockey Central contains records for the NHL and the Pittsburgh Penguins.



Frank J. Selke Trophy

Best Defensive Forwards

An annual award "to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game." The winner is selected in a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association at the end of the regular schedule.

History: In 1977, the Board of Governors of the NHL decided to create an award that would recognize the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game. It was decided that the award would honour Frank J. Selke, a former executive with both the Toronto Maple Leafs and the Montreal Canadiens, Frank Selke was a committed builder to NHL hockey for sixty years, and was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame as a builder in 1960. Working closely with Conn Smythe, the two were instrumental in the building of Maple Leaf Gardens in 1931, and Selke watched the Leafs win three Stanley Cups while in their employ. But a falling out with Smythe during the Second World War resulted in Selke joining the Canadiens in 1946, and he was general manager for six more championships in Montreal.

The Selke Trophy was first awarded in 1977-78, with Bob Gainey of the Canadiens winning the award.

Year Winner Team
2018-19 Ryan O'Reilly St. Louis Blues
2017-18 Anze Kopitar Los Angeles Kings
2016-17 Patrice Bergeron Boston Bruins
2015-16 Anze Kopitar Los Angeles Kings
2014-15 Patrice Bergeron Boston Bruins
2013-14 Patrice Bergeron Boston Bruins
2012-13 Jonathan Toews Chicago Blackhawks
2011-12 Patrice Bergeron Boston Bruins
2010-11 Ryan Kesler Vancouver Canucks
2009-10 Pavel Datsyuk Detroit Red Wings
2008-09 Pavel Datsyuk Detroit Red Wings
2007-08 Pavel Datsyuk Detroit Red Wings
2006-07 Rob Brind'Amour Carolina Hurricanes
2005-06 Rob Brind'Amour Carolina Hurricanes
2004-05 -- --
2003-04 Kris Draper Detroit Red Wings
2002-03 Jere Lehtinen Dallas Stars
2001-02 Michael Peca New York Islanders
2000-01 John Madden New Jersey Devils
1999-00 Steve Yzerman Detroit Red Wings
1998-99 Jere Lehtinen Dallas Stars
Year Winner Team
1997-98 Jere Lehtinen Dallas Stars
1996-97 Michael Peca Buffalo Sabres
1995-96 Sergei Fedorov Detroit Red Wings
1994-95 Ron Francis Pittsburgh Penguins
1993-94 Sergei Fedorov Detroit Red Wings
1992-93 Doug Gilmour Toronto Maple Leafs
1991-92 Guy Carbonneau Montreal Canadiens
1990-91 Dirk Graham Chicago Blackhawks
1989-90 Rick Meagher St. Louis Blues
1988-89 Guy Carbonneau Montreal Canadiens
1987-88 Guy Carbonneau Montreal Canadiens
1986-87 Dave Poulin Philadelphia Flyers
1985-86 Troy Murray Chicago Blackhawks
1984-85 Craig Ramsay Buffalo Sabres
1983-84 Doug Jarvis Washington Capitals
1982-83 Bobby Clarke Philadelphia Flyers
1981-82 Steve Kasper Boston Bruins
1980-81 Bob Gainey Montreal Canadiens
1979-80 Bob Gainey Montreal Canadiens
1978-79 Bob Gainey Montreal Canadiens
1977-78 Bob Gainey Montreal Canadiens

© National Hockey League, NHL, the logo of the NHL and the Stanley Cup are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League.
All NHL logos and marks and team names and team logos depicted here in are the property of the NHL and the respective teams. All rights reserved.