Hockey Central

Hockey Central contains records for the NHL and the Pittsburgh Penguins.



Conn Smythe Trophy

Most Valuable Player in Playoffs

An annual award "to the most valuable player for his team in the playoffs." Winner is selected by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association at the conclusion of the final game in the Stanley Cup Finals.

History: Conn Smythe's name was synonymous with hockey in Toronto for five decades. Having purchased the Toronto St. Pats in 1927, Smythe changed their name to the Toronto Maple Leafs, and altered their sweaters to the blue and white we know today. A powerful leader, Smythe had been coach, general manager and owner of the Toronto Maple Leafs before he was recognized by the Hockey Hall of Fame with his induction as a builder in 1958. It was around this time that Conn Smythe sold controlling interest in Maple Leaf Gardens to his son Stafford, Harold Ballard and John Bassett. In 1964, Maple Leaf Gardens donated a trophy for presentation to the most valuable player in each season's playoff competition.

The Conn Smythe Trophy was fashioned to look like Smythe's beloved Maple Leaf Gardens, and was first awarded following the 1964-65 playoffs, with the inaugural presentation going to Montreal Canadiens' captain Jean Beliveau.

Year Winner Team
2018-19 Ryan O'Reilly St. Louis Blues
2017-18 Alexander Ovechkin Washington Capitals
2016-17 Sidney Crosby Pittsburgh Penguins
2015-16 Sidney Crosby Pittsburgh Penguins
2014-15 Duncan Keith Chicago Blackhawks
2013-14 Justin Williams Los Angeles Kings
2012-13 Patrick Kane Chicago Blackhawks
2011-12 Jonathan Quick Los Angeles Kings
2010-11 Tim Thomas Boston Bruins
2009-10 Jonathan Toews Chicago Blackhawks
2008-09 Evgeni Malkin Pittsburgh Penguins
2007-08 Henrik Zetterberg Detroit Red Wings
2006-07 Scott Niedermayer Anaheim Ducks
2005-06 Cam Ward Carolina Hurricanes
2004-05 -- --
2003-04 Brad Richards Tampa Bay Lightning
2002-03 J-S Giguere* Mighty Ducks of Anaheim
2001-02 Nicklas Lidstrom Detroit Red Wings
2000-01 Patrick Roy Colorado Avalanche
1999-00 Scott Stevens New Jersey Devils
1998-99 Joe Nieuwendyk Dallas Stars
1997-98 Steve Yzerman Detroit Red Wings
1996-97 Mike Vernon Detroit Red Wings
1995-96 Joe Sakic Colorado Avalanche
1994-95 Claude Lemieux New Jersey Devils
1993-94 Brian Leetch New York Rangers
1992-93 Patrick Roy Montreal Canadiens
1991-92 Mario Lemieux Pittsburgh Penguins
Year Winner team
1990-91 Mario Lemieux Pittsburgh Penguins
1989-90 Bill Ranford Edmonton Oilers
1988-89 Al MacInnis Calgary Flames
1987-88 Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers
1986-87 Ron Hextall Philadelphia Flyers
1985-86 Patrick Roy Montreal Canadiens
1984-85 Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers
1983-84 Mark Messier Edmonton Oilers
1982-83 Billy Smith New York Islanders
1981-82 Mike Bossy New York Islanders
1980-81 Butch Goring New York Islanders
1979-80 Bryan Trottier New York Islanders
1978-79 Bob Gainey Montreal Canadiens
1977-78 Larry Robinson Montreal Canadiens
1976-77 Guy Lafleur Montreal Canadiens
1975-76 Reggie Leach Philadelphia Flyers
1974-75 Bernie Parent Philadelphia Flyers
1973-74 Bernie Parent Philadelphia Flyers
1972-73 Yvan Cournoyer Montreal Canadiens
1971-72 Bobby Orr Boston Bruins
1970-71 Ken Dryden Montreal Canadiens
1969-70 Bobby Orr Boston Bruins
1968-69 Serge Savard Montreal Canadiens
1967-68 Glenn Hall* St. Louis Blues
1966-67 Dave Keon Toronto Maple Leafs
1965-66 Roger Crozier* Detroit Red Wings
1964-65 Jean Beliveau Montreal Canadiens

* indicates that the player was a member of the losing team in the finals

© National Hockey League, NHL, the logo of the NHL and the Stanley Cup are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League.
All NHL logos and marks and team names and team logos depicted here in are the property of the NHL and the respective teams. All rights reserved.