Hockey Central
Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy
Player Most Exemplifying
Perseverance and Dediction

An annual award under the trusteeship of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association to "the National Hockey League player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey." The winner is selected in a poll among the 30 chapters of the PHWA at the end of the regular season. A $2,500 grant from the PHWA is awarded annually to the Bill Masterton Scholarship Fund, based in Bloomington, MN, in the name of the Masterton Trophy winner.

History: The trophy was presented by the NHL Writers' Association in 1968 to commemorate the late William Masterton, a player of the Minnesota North Stars, who exhibited to a high degree the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey. Masterton died on January 15, 1968.

Year Winner Team
2017 Craig Anderson Ottawa Senators
2016 Jaromir Jagr Florida Panthers
2015 Devan Dudnyk NY Rangers
2014 Dominic Moore New York Rangers
2013 Josh Harding Minnesota Wild
2012 Max Pacioretty Montreal Canadiens
2011 Ian Laperriere Philadelphia Flyers
2010 Jose Theodore Washington Capitals
2009 Steve Sullivan Nashville Predators
2008 Jason Blake Toronto Maple Leafs
2007 Phil Kessel Boston Bruins
2006 Teemu Selanne Anaheim Ducks
2005 -- --
2004 Bryan Berard Chicago Blackhawks
2003 Steve Yzerman Detroit Red Wings
2002 Saku Koivu Montreal Canadiens
2001 Adam Graves New York Rangers
2000 Ken Daneyko New Jersey Devils
1999 John Cullen Tampa Bay Lightning
1998 Jamie McLennan St. Louis Blues
1997 Tony Granato San Jose Sharks
1996 Gary Roberts Calgary Flames
1995 Pat Lafontaine Buffalo Sabres
1994 Cam Neely Boston Bruins
1993 Mario Lemieux Pttsburgh Penguins
1992 Mark Fitzpatrick New York Islanders
1991 Dave Taylor Los Angeles Kings
1990 Gord Kluzak Boston Bruins
1989 Tim Kerr Philadelphia Flyers
1988 Bob Bourne Los Angeles Kings
1987 Doug Jarvis Harford Whalers
1986 Charlie Simmer Boston Bruins
1985 Anders Hedberg New York Rangers
1984 Brad Park Detroit Red Wings
1983 Manny McDonald Calgary Flames
1982 Glenn Resch Colorado Avalanche
1981 Blake Dunlop St. Louis Blues
1980 Al MacAdam Minnesota North Stars
1979 Serge Savard Montreal Canadiens
1978 Butch Goring Los Angeles Kings
1977 Ed Westfall New York Islanders
1976 Rod Gilbert New York Rangers
1975 Don Luce Buffalo Sabres
1974 Henri Richard Montreal Canadiens
1973 Lowell MacDonald Pittsburgh Penguins
1972 Bobby Clarke Philadelphia Flyers
1971 Jean Ratelle New York Rangers
1970 Pit Martin Chicago Blackhawks
1969 Ted Hampson Oakland Seals
1968 Claude Provost Montreal Canadiens